Scandals and Animals

by The Water

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Get the Water's debut full-length "Scandals and Animals" on CD along with an immediate digital download of the album.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Scandals and Animals via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $10 USD or more 




Get the Water's debut full-length "Scandals and Animals" on CD along with an immediate digital download of the album.


released January 31, 2012

Scenic Route Records to release Baltimore instrumental rock duo The Water's debut album Scandals & Animals

On January 31st, 2012, Baltimore indie label Scenic Route Records will release the debut album, Scandals & Animals by The Water. Multi-instrumentalists Dan Cohan and James Klink have built a growing East coast following with their densely textured, inventively arranged instrumental songs and eye-catching live shows over the past five years. And after three EP releases, The Water's long-awaited first full-length album will be available digitally and on CD on January 31st, with a release party in Baltimore to follow on Feb 3rd at the Golden West Cafe.

Scandals And Animals follows hot on the heels of the band's first Scenic Route release, Elf Storage, a two-track EP out since early December. The album, recorded at Baltimore's Mobtown Studios with producers Mat Leffler-Schulman and Scenic Routes’ very own Alex Champagne is a gorgeous realization of the band's live sound. The album's nine songs include longtime live favorites like the epic slow burner "DeSelby" as well as the propulsive lead single "Future Nails." Though The Water are often described as a post-rock band, Scandals And Animals firmly establishes the duo as true songwriters, mastering melody and song structure as well as mood, and conjuring emotions and imagery without the aid of vocals or lyrics.

With Dan Cohan switching between drums and guitar, and James Klink juggling guitar and keyboards, The Water pile on layers of loops and beautiful overlapping tangles of melody and polyrhythms. Building each song up and tearing it back down with linear song structures and ingenius arrangements, The Water transcend predictable soft-loud-soft dynamics but almost always reach a europhic crescendo, often accompanied by a flash of color from the strange obelisk of light that stands center stage.

Lifelong friends, Cohan and Klink formed The Water in 2006 after making music together since grade school. "This is the project that stuck," explains Cohan. "We came to this setup because we could never find people that were on board with the sound we wanted to do, so instead of trying to find more people we just learned how to loop." After releasing two self-titled EPs in 2009 and 2010 and establishing themselves as one of the most unique and impressive live bands in Baltimore, The Water have finally created an album that truly captures the sound the two friends have long pursued.
released 31 January 2012
All songs written and performed by The Water
Produced by Mat Leffler-Schulman and Alex Champange
Recorded at Mobtown Studios - Baltimore MD
Engineered by Mat Leffler-Schulman and Alex Champagne
Mixed by Mat Leffler-Schulman and Alex Champagne
Mastered by Steve Wright at Wrightway Studios
Art and design by Okan Arabacioglu

Special thanks to Mat and Emily Leffler-Schulman at Mobtown Studios for making this album possible.



all rights reserved


Scenic Route Records Baltimore, Maryland

contact / help

Contact Scenic Route Records

Streaming and
Download help